Welcome to British Expats Abroad
      paul1982

America - Advice and Suggestions

Hi all, i'm new to this forum and not quite sure how things work and if this is even in the right place, but here goes....

I've been in a long distance relationship with my californian girlfriend for 3 years now and i would really like to move to america early next year. we are both currently looking at ways to make this happen and i have a few questions for you people and i would be interested to know what you think and also about your own personal experiences of moving/living in america.

Ideally i would like to do everything above board and get some sort of work sponsorship visa for 18 months to test the water etc (i think this is a J1 visa? i maybe wrong though). i work in the building trade as a dry-liner (dry-waller in america?) which i am happy with and would like to continue with although i guess i do have transferable skills for similar sort of handwork. at the moment i have been sending prospective emails to contacts of my girlfriend, however she is from san francisco and the construction industry seems to be in somewhat of a lull there at the moment and there doesn't seem to be much work for the people already there, never-mind someone who also requires sponsorship as well. could anyone give me a better picture of how things are in america as a whole at the moment with regards to the economic recovery and more specifically if anyone works or knows people working in the construction trade who could give me a bit more detailed knowledge, and maybe point me in the right direction to look etc. and does anyone know the criteria for accepting skilled workers into america, whats required from them, how they must prove their skills etc etc...or is it just down to the fact that a company is sponsoring you?