Welcome to British Expats Abroad
  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Like Tree1Likes

Thread: English looking for advice on moving to South Florida

rudderchini

English looking for advice on moving to South Florida

Hi, im a 24 yr old english guy looking to move to south florida area. I currently work as a mechanical engineer in England not far outside of London. I have visited Miami, Tampa and orlando on several occasions and have worked in MA just outside of Boston a couple of years ago.

My girlfriend goes to med school in tampa and her family live in the miami area. This is the area where i am mostly looking to work. If anyone could please point me in the right direction as far as finding work, obtaining visa's and just in general advice about where to start to eventually moving abroad to the miami/tampa area.

Thanks for any advice given and it will all be fully grateful.

Thanks

Lee

2. Moneycorp - Commercial foreign exchange since 1979
      purple
      Lee,

Plenty of advice in the "Brits in America" section here. Have a look over it and see if anything strikes you as familiar.

If she's a US Citizen, and you're thinking of getting married, then look into a K-1 visa to allow you to marry here,
      or a CR-1 to allow you to marry in the UK and then move here after. Nothing will happen overnight, whatever way you do it, but you probably already know that. There are pro's and cons to both visa's.

If you're not looking to get married yet, and you want to come to live here through work, then you'll need to find a job job that will sponsor you to work and live here. As a pointer, right now is not a good time for that and that won't be such an easy option.
      You probably know that you can't just apply for a visa to work here unless you have the job to come to, and that can't be just any old job, the company you want to work for has to have plenty of reasons why they need to hire you, and they have to apply for the Visa for you.