Welcome to British Expats Abroad
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By MahlaTru

Thread: Lost in the Immigration services

Salz

Lost in the Immigration services

Hi there,

This is my first time posting here so forgive me if I知 a little lost.

I知 having some trouble figuring out the US immigration system (and from looking at the forums I知 not the only one) thing is I知 actually an American citizen, I am getting married to my long time fianc who is British and wanting to move back to the states and I just don稚 have a clue where to start. I left the states when I was a child and moved to various other countries and have been in the UK for the past few (too many) years.

We池e getting married in the UK as friends and family are here then we池e wanting to move to CA but don稚 really know how to negotiate the system, most of the immigration FAQs I致e read are for people in the US bringing in a partner or for folk who are already there.

Any advice would be really appreciated as my ultimate nightmare is getting some form stamped wrong and him getting into a mess with the immigration laws.

Thanks Salz

2. Moneycorp - Commercial foreign exchange since 1979
      Andy Chapman

Thumbs up

Hi Salz welcome to B-A.

A difficult question, try this websit and copy & paste
      your quetion in the box they maybe able to help.
      http://www.justanswer.com/law/immigr...FQtWtAodQR4uDQ

Good Luck

andy

traveller
      Hi salz,

Congratulations on the wedding! Have you looked at the US Dept of State site?

http://travel.state.gov/visa/immigra...ypes_1315.html

According to the 'Immigrant Visa for a Spouse' section...

"Sometimes a U.S. citizen living abroad can file an immigrant visa petition at an U.S. embassy or consulate (post). To find out whether you can file a petition at a specific post abroad, you must ask that post. For information on how to contact the post, please select U.S. embassy or consulate abroad"

Hope that helps!

MahlaTru
      Hi Salz,