Welcome to British Expats Abroad
      ironsmurf

Scotsman relocating to Saint Petersburg looking for advice..

hi all,

rather than asking about visas etc id just like opinions on the area or other options. My girlfriend is a us citizen (a dancer at busch gardens) so we need to be near tampa..
      Im a personal trainer/soccer (fitbaw) coach. Is there much work going on that front. Im also an ironman triathlete.. can you cycle on the roads there.. ref swimming im absolutely cacking it., theres stuff in the sea that wants to eat you and im not happy bout it..
      anyway any views on st pete, life in florida for an ex pat etc would be greatly appreciated..
      oh and before anyone starts on about the weather being too muggy etc picture this.. outside right now in Livingston, not far from edinburgh its miserable.. its windy, raining and cold, we had no summer and this shocking weather will continue till march when the only difference will be it gets darker later..
      Ill deal with floridian heat..
      cheers.

al.

2. Moneycorp - Commercial foreign exchange since 1979
      Septicbrit
      Plenty of jobs in gyms. You'll be expected to hustle for clients, though. Best bet is a probably going self-employed with skills like these.

Hope
      Hi Al,
      Not an ex-pat, but I've been to St Pete's a few times.. lovely place! Have you visited before? Cycling on the roads can be a bit dodgy as it's such a car culture there.. and of course, there aren't many Minis for you to avoid ;o) I've swam many times in the Gulf of Mexico ... just don't think too much about it! lol!
      When I was over just last month, it was totally roastin! (+100 degrees every day), but as you say, you'll cope with the heat!

Wishing you the best of luck!

~ Hope

purple
      Hi Al,