Welcome to British Expats Abroad

Title
      Liked
      0 times
      Rep
      gemcraig is on a distinguished road

Young family moving to US! HELP :-)

Me, my partner (not married) and young son (6) are hoping to move to the US; we've only just started looking into this and really don't have a clue what we need to do!

We both have degrees and he has 4 years experience in his degree field - I only have a couple of months as I've just graduated! Hoping to get some advice on what visas we might need... if my son just tags along with us?? Do you need a visa if you're applying for a green card?

We are hoping to both try and secure job offers before coming as I'm assuming this would be far easier! We are hoping to move to either PA or CA - but anywhere we can get jobs if need be! Any advice on where to look for jobs would be great; I work in marketing and my partner is a sports coach.

And any other advice, on anything, would really be appreciated! Thanks! :-)

Gemma

2. Moneycorp - Commercial foreign exchange since 1979

Title
      Liked
      0 times
      Rep
      Vickk14 is on a distinguished road
      Hi Gemma, I too am a Marketing Graduate looking to move and work in the U.S. I graduated in 2014 and have been working full time in a marketing position from May 2014. I have looked into some information on H1B visa but hopefully someone on here has some experience or advice they can give us. I have been looking at jobs and applying with cv and cover letter but not sure if this is the best thing to do? Vick

Title
      Liked
      0 times
      Rep
      Quote Originally Posted by Vickk14 View Post