Welcome to British Expats Abroad

Thread: Spain

Tinkerbelle

Spain

Hello
      I'm a newbie so please be nice!
      My husband and I are thinking of relocating to Spain, but I've seen a couple of news stories that are making me worried, and wondered if anyone here could allay my fears!
      Firstly, I heard that the way Spanish inheritance tax works means that if either of us was to pass away, the other would need to pay a lump sum to the Spanish government for inheriting the other half of the house. Is this true?
      Also, I read on APlaceInTheSun.com that people are losing their homes and I'm worried this could happen to us - http://www.aplaceinthesun.com/news/s...olitions/12133
      I'd appreciate any advice!
      Tinks.

2. Moneycorp - Commercial foreign exchange since 1979

Title
      Aldo is a Dil
      Liked
      23 times
      Rep
      thearmchairdetective is on a distinguished road
      Hi Tinkerbelle,
      what you need to do is rent a property over there at first, 6 - 12 months.
      This will give you peace of mind to start with for if anything goes wrong you are not loosing a lot. Also this will let you get the lie of the land and give you the chance of learning what to do and what not to do from the community circle you end up in.

Whereabouts in spain do you fancy?

Tinkerbelle
      Well, I love Andalucia. I've got (don't laugh!) dreams of starting a riding business there because the horses are so wonderful. I've been searching on the A Place In The Sun website where I saw the news story and found a property with land and stables.

Title
      Aldo is a Dil
      Liked
      23 times
      Rep
      thearmchairdetective is on a distinguished road
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinkerbelle View Post